My Late “Discovery” of Buddy Guy

While I had heard of Buddy Guy before, it was not until a few months ago that I began exploring his music – better late than never!

It all started when I came across Whiskey, Beer and Wine, a song from Buddy Guy’s most recent studio album Born to Play Guitar, released last year – the title couldn’t be more fitting!

What an amazing guitarist and what a fantastic tune! When I listened to it for the first time, I could picture Jimi Hendrix before my eyes. And no wonder, from what I read, Jimi was one of many top-notch guitarists who were influenced by Buddy. Others include Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page, Keith Richards and Stevie Ray Vaughan, to name a few.

It’s also amazing to me that when you listen to Born to Play Guitar, you certainly don’t realize Buddy is close to 80 years old. He seems to have the energy of a young Jimi Hendrix!

Buddy was born in Lettsworth, LA on July 30, 1936. He started performing with bands in Baton Rouge in the early 1950s. His debut solo album, I Left My Blues in San Francisco, came out in 1967. Buddy has since released 16 additional studio albums and various live albums. He has also collaborated with numerous other artists on more than 20 albums.

Born to Play Guitar and six other of Buddy’s albums have won Grammys for Best (Contemporary) Blues Album. I think this record speaks for itself.

I know it’s impossible to know all music, but if you like Blues and were like me just a few months ago, go and check him out! And if you need additional encouragement, a clip of Whiskey, Beer and Wine is here.

Leave a Reply

