Some of My Favorite Rock Guitar Riffs

A list of some of my favorite rock guitar riffs.

This morning on my way to work I listened to Tush from ZZ Top, one of my favorite guitar riffs. When you can recognize a song after just a few notes, most of the times it means it’s good. This made me think about other rock riffs I like. And while it’s of course impossible to do great rock music justice in one list, following are 20 of my favorite riffs in no particular order:

  • Tush (ZZ Top)
  • Day Tripper (The Beatles)
  • (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction (The Rolling Stones)
  • You Really Got Me (The Kinks)
  • My Generation (The Who)
  • Are You Gonna Go My Way (Lenny Kravitz)
  • Black Night (Deep Purple)
  • Highway to Hell (AC/DC)
  • Carry On Wayward Son (Kansas)
  • Oh, Pretty Woman (Roy Orbison)
  • Sweet Home Alabama (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
  • (Don’t Fear) The Reaper (Blue Öyster Cult)
  • Whiskey, Beer & Wine (Buddy Guy)
  • Rebel Rebel (David Bowie)
  • Voodoo Chile (Slight Return) (Jim Hendrix)
  • Whole Lotta Love (Led Zeppelin)
  • Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll (Rainbow)
  • Rock You Like A Hurricane (Scorpions)
  • Whipping Post (The Allman Brothers Band)
  • Owner Of A Lonely Heart (Yes)

Leave a Reply

