My Summer Concert Season Is Heating Up

This is a little preview of shows I’m going to see later this month and in August.

It’s going to be a busy summer for me on the concert front. Following is what I’m planning to attend over the next couple of months:

Paul McCartney, Hersheypark Stadium, Hershey, PA, Jul 19: Sir Paul is going to kick off my summer concert season. I went to one of his shows in Germany in the 80s, and I’m beyond thrilled to see him again! A great friend of mine from Germany told me his previous gigs there earlier this year received rave reviews and even made the evening news! Apparently from the signature opening chord of A Hard Day’s Night until the end of the last encore about three hours later it’s an amazing journey from the 60s to the present. Some say The Beatles are overrated – they don’t know what they’re talking about. And Paul has also written some pretty good music thereafter. He has helped change rock music forever. In my of course completely unbiased opinion, there’s no doubt about that!

Buddy Guy & Jeff Beck, PNC Bank Arts Center, Holmdel, NJ, Jul 26:  Two guitar legends in one show – it doesn’t get much better than that! Admittedly, I’ve got some catching up to on Jeff Beck. The fact that Jeff played with the Yardbirds, which he joined in March 1965 to succeed Eric Clapton, already makes him totally cool in my book. And Buddy Guy? I also only started exploring his music in greater depth more recently. Wow, is all I can say – it’s like Jimi Hendrix never passed!

Bonnie Raitt, New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Newark, NJ, Aug 13: Bonnie has been on my concert bucket list for a long time. My above friend from Germany has seen her three times and told me each show was fantastic. A friend of his caught Bonnie during her current tour in Frankfurt, Germany earlier this year and called him thereafter to rave about the concert. I’ve always been fascinated by Bonnie’s amazing slide guitar playing. And she’s released many great songs over the decades as well. It should be a lot of fun!

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, MetLife Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ, Aug 30: This show will be part of The River Tour in connection with Springsteen’s 2015 box set, The Ties That Bind: The River Collection. I read the concerts feature performances of all or most songs of Bruce’s iconic album from 1980 and other tunes. The River was Bruce’s fifth studio album and includes two of my favorite Springsteen tunes: Hungry Heart and The River! I saw Bruce for the first time in Frankfurt more than 25 years ago, together with my above friend. It was truly an unforgettable gig that lasted close to four hours, including some 1.5 hours of encores. Very few artists put on a rock & roll show like that. What a way to end my summer concert season with a home play of The Boss!

I’ll be sure to post my impressions from each of the above shows, so make sure to check back if you’re reading this!

Leave a Reply

