Chris & Max Pick …songs from 2002

Happy Friday and welcome to the latest post of Chris & Max Pick…, a song series started by fellow blogger Max from PowerPop in June 2023. He covered the years 1955 through 1995, and I’ve picked it up beginning with 1996, aiming to go all the way to 2024. Max generously agreed to contribute. Today’s picks are from 2002.

Ceasars/Jerk It Out

This time we’re kicking it off with a terrific pick by Max I hadn’t heard before: Jerk It Out by Ceasars. Originally known as Ceasar’s Palace, the Swedish garage rock band was formed in Stockholm in 1995. The song initially appeared on their third studio album Love for the Streets, which came out in April 2002 under their original name. The great retro rocker received lots of attention in the U.S. after it had been featured in iPod TV commercials in 2004 and 2005. Upon re-release in 2005, it became an international hit, reaching no. 8 on the UK Singles Chart and peaking at no. 70 on the US Billboard Hot 100.

Bruce Springsteen/The Rising

In the aftermath of the September 11 terrorist attacks in the U.S., Bruce Springsteen reportedly was in his car when a stranger from a another car nearby rolled down the window and said, “We need you now.” This compelled The Boss to record what became his 12th studio album The Rising, which came out in July 2002. Springsteen already had written a few songs prior to 9/11. One he penned in the aftermath of the tragedy was the album’s title track. It tells the tale of a New York City firefighter ascending one of the World Trade Center towers after they had been hit by hijacked planes. The Rising won Grammys for Best Rock Song and Best Male Rock Vocal Performance.

Coldplay/Clocks

When I think of British alternative pop band Coldplay, the first song coming to mind is Clocks. The stunning piano-driven pop song is credited to all four members of the group: Chris Martin (lead vocals, piano, guitar), Jonny Buckland (guitar, backing vocals), Guy Berryman (bass) and Will Champion (drums, percussion, backing vocals), which is their line-up to this day. It first appeared on Coldplay’s sophomore album A Rush of Blood to the Head, which dropped in August 2002. Considered to be one of their signature songs, Clocks was also released as a single in March 2003 and won Record of the Year at the 2004 Grammy Awards.

The Libertines/Time For Heroes

The early 2000s were the period of garage rock revival, so it’s perhaps not a surprise we feature another great song from that genre here. In October 2002, The Libertines released their debut album Up the Bracket. The British group around Carl Barât (vocals, guitar) and Pete Doherty (vocals, guitar) had formed in London in 1997. By the time they recorded the album, John Hassall (bass) and Gary Powell (drums) completed their line-up. They’re still around. Here’s Time For Heroes, which like all other tracks on the album was co-written by Barât and Doherty.

Christina Aguilera/Beautiful

This pick may come as a surprise or even a shock to some. But if you really know my music taste it shouldn’t be. To begin with, I like the occasional ballad, even if it’s on the lush side. More importantly, I love great vocalists and would argue that Christina Aguilera is one of the best female contemporary singers. This is different from having great songs. In this case, both came together. Beautiful, which was written by Linda Perry (of 4 Non Blondes fame), is from Aguilera’s fourth studio album Stripped, released in October 2002. It also appeared separately as the album’s second single in November 2002 and became one of her biggest hits.

Johnny Cash/In My Life

If Christina Aguilera didn’t make you at least feel somewhat emotional, I think there’s no chance this next song won’t. Johnny Cash’s vulnerable rendition of In My Life has literally driven me to tears. It also happens to be one of my all-time favorite John Lennon songs. The Man in Black recorded this version for his 67th and final non-posthumous studio album American IV: The Man Comes Around, the fourth in a series produced by Rick Rubin and appearing on his label American Recordings. Rubin produced two additional albums in the series, which were released after Cash’s death.

Sources: Wikipedia; Acclaimed Music; YouTube; Spotify

12 thoughts on “Chris & Max Pick …songs from 2002”

  1. Thanks for including The Ceasars. That could have been a hit in any era I believe. Cool riff and then it explodes. I never heard The Libertines before…I like that a lot!
    That Johnny Cash rendition of In My Life is jarring knowing he was very near the end when he covered it. Thanks again for continuing this.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Keith is also doing his version with it…I don’t know if you checked it out. It’s on the years of his life. I so appreciate you carrying this on Christian! I’ll get you some more also soon.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Johnny’s cover was outstanding…really a whole different take on that song. ‘Clocks’ I quite like. Not many Coldplay songs I’d say that about honestly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m a bit of a sucker for emotionally charged songs and think it doesn’t get much better in that department than Johnny Cash’s cover of “In My Life.”

      I ended up going to the recent Rock the Farm festival in the evening where I caught the tail end of a Coldplay tribute band. Apart from “Clocks”, I only recognized one additional song. Overall, the music was pleasant but not something I’d immediately want to explore further. That said, I’ve always thought “Clocks” is a great pop song.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi guys. The Rising (The whole album) is such a special song for a lot of reasons. It’s Bruce in top form. Inspired and letting it out. At this stage he was still doing the wordless vocals. Words would come so he lets out the emotion. Beautiful
    “Catfish dancing on the end of my line”. Great image.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have written a fair bit about the Rising record. I second CB’s comments below. It’s such a massive album in not only significance but represented his comeback to some top form.
    His ‘Rising’ concert in Barcelona DVD is one of my favourites concerts.

    I had never heard Johnny Cash’s rendition of ‘In My Life’ before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment