Chris & Max Pick …songs from 2003

It’s Friday and time for another installment of Chris & Max Pick…, a song series started by fellow blogger Max from PowerPop in June 2023. He covered the years 1955 through 1995, and I’ve picked it up beginning with 1996, fiercely determined to take it all the way to 2024. Max generously agreed to be in for the ride. Today we shall take a look at 2003.

Joe Jackson Band/Awkward Age

The first pick is Joe Jackson who rightfully has been called a chameleon. Over a 45-year recording career, the British artist has explored multiple genres, such as pub rock, new wave, punk, ska, swing, pop and, most recently, music hall. For his 16th studio release from March 2003, Jackson decided to revive the band who had backed him on his first three albums – guitarist Gary Sanford, bassist Graham Maby and drummer David Houghton – and appropriately call it Volume 4. Here’s Awkward Age, which like all tracks was penned by Jackson who provided piano, organ, electric piano, melodica and lead vocals. Great song!

The Jayhawks/Save It For a Rainy Day

In April 2003, The Jayhawks came out with their seventh studio album Rainy Day Music. I didn’t know the alternative country and rock band at the time, who started out as a short-lived trio in 1984 in Minneapolis, Minn. before expanding to a four-piece. By the time they recorded Rainy Day Music, their line-up featured co-founders Gary Louris (guitar, vocals) and Marc Perlman (bass, vocals), along with Stephen McCarthy (pedal steel guitar, banjo, lap steel guitar, vocals) and Tim O’Reagan (drums, percussion, guitar, conga, vocals). All except McCarthy remain with the group to this day. Here’s Save It For a Rainy Day, written by Louris. Love their warm sound and neat harmony vocals!

John Hiatt & The Goners/My Baby Blue

Ever since I started exploring John Hiatt a few years ago, I’ve loved the singer-songwriter whose songs have been covered by the likes of Bonnie Raitt, Emmylou Harris, Delbert McClinton and Bob Dylan. My Baby Blue, a personal favorite, appeared on Hiatt’s seventh studio album Beneath This Gruff Exterior, released in May 2003. Like on on 1988’s Slow Turning and 2001’s The Tiki Bar Is Open, he was backed by The Goners. This time, they received front cover credit.

Fountains of Wayne/Stacy’s Mom

While Fountains of Wayne were a one-hit wonder, the New Jersey-based power pop band developed a dedicated fanbase. Between 1995 and 2013 with a two-year hiatus from 1999 until 2001, the group released six albums. They never formally announced their breakup. Original member Adam Schlesinger who also co-founded a few other bands, wrote songs for TV and film and was a producer, passed away in April 2020 due to complications from COVID. Stacy’s Mom, off the band’s third studio album Welcome Interstate Managers from June 2003, became their Grammy nominated hit. Apparently, many of their fans don’t think it’s their best. But it’s the one I know, plus I find it hilarious.

Jet/Are You Gonna Be My Girl

This brings us to Max’s pick: Are You Gonna By My Girl by Jet, another great song I hadn’t known. Jet are an Australian garage rock band who initially were founded in 2001 in Melbourne around brothers Nic Cester (vocals, rhythm guitar, piano) and Chris Cester (drums, vocals). Jet’s influences include The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Faces, AC/DC and T. Rex – a fine list! Are You Gonna Be My Girl, co-written by Nic Cester and the group’s lead guitarist Cameron Muncey, was included on their highly successful debut album Get Born, which dropped in September 2003. The song also became their best-selling single.

Dido/White Flag

The final pick for 2003 is White Flag, a pop ballad by English singer-songwriter Dido. I’ve always liked her ethereal vocals, which remind me a bit of Sarah McLachlan, as well as the song’s atmosphere. White Flag, co-written by Dido, Rick Nowels and co-producer Rollo Armstrong, was first released in July 2003 as the lead single to Dido’s sophomore album Life For Rent, which appeared in September of the same year. It became Dido’s biggest hit and won Best British Single at the 2004 Brit Awards.

Sources: Wikipedia; Acclaimed Music; YouTube; Spotify

23 thoughts on “Chris & Max Pick …songs from 2003”

  1. Lots of familiar names yet a couple songs I don’t know. Looking forward to giving a good listen. I had lost touch with JJ at that point but it sounds like the song was a bit of a return to form from his pop music.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the Hiatt, Fountains of Wayne, Jayhawks…great list Christian!
    Glad you liked that song by Jet. I had high hopes for them…there was another song I almost picked by them… ” “Look What You’ve Done”” ….they basically took “Sexy Sadie” and redid it but that is fine…it sounded great. I was hoping they would be another Black Crowes.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It’s been a busy week! The next two could get worse.
        Anyway Christian…if you get time….check out that other Jet song…I think you might like it .

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I missed that Joe Jackson album entirely which is probably a shame…he’s usually put out excellent stuff no matter what direction he was headed at the time. Love the Dido song, perhaps by favorite of that year

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Jayhawks/Save It For a Rainy Day – I hadn’t heard this before, but I really enjoyed it. It reminded me of a refined folksy Beatles sound, may be more akin to an early George Harrison tune. Great song.

    I also love Dido’s output from this period. Her unassuming elegant sound just tears at my heartstrings. What a gorgeous artist!
    I really enjoyed this Christian. Thank you.

    Some of my favourites from 2003 are Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Country Fair’, David Bridie’s ‘On a day Like This’ and ‘Hotel radio’, and David Gray’s ‘Be Mine’.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m embarrassed to have forgotten this album as I see I like and commented on your post. It was 3 years ago, though… Yes, I love the sound of that dobro and the choice of backup musicians pulls the music together well. Hiatt himself is a little rough for wear, but it makes the music all the more real. Cool video with the black caddy.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I had that Jet album – I think everyone did – and wore it out. Stacey’s Mom is fun, and I still have that on my playlists. Dido was a funny one – huge for a couple of albums and then… nothing. Great choices again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment