Clips & Pix: Larkin Poe/If I Fell

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I think watching covers performed by sister act Rebecca Lovell and Megan Lovell, aka Larkin Poe, is always fun. Their energy and enthusiasm draw you in. Plus, they’re really talented musicians. Check out how Megan’s lap steel harmonizes with Rebecca’s vocals – really neat!

It also doesn’t hurt these ladies take on a song by The Beatles, my favorite band of all time. Primarily written by John Lennon and credited to him and Paul McCartney, If I Fell was included on both the US and UK versions of the studio album A Hard Day’s Night released in June and July of 1964, respectively. The tune also appeared as a single in both countries: In the US as the B-side to And I Love Her, in the UK as an A-side backed by Tell Me Why.

Sources: Wikipedia; YouTube

6 thoughts on “Clips & Pix: Larkin Poe/If I Fell”

    1. Bei Larkin Poe kommen sicherlich mehrere musikalische Einflüsse zusammen, insbesondere Blues und Southern Rock.

      Bei ihren Covern gefällt mir insbesondere die Spontanität und der “stripped back approach”. Außerdem singen sie fantastischen Harmoniegesang, der allerdings in diesem Beispiel durch die Lap Steel ersetzt wird.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I love this raw version. The slide sounds so good and they did it their way but with respect to the original…sounds like they wrote the song…totally cool Christian.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment