The Black Crowes Bring Happiness to New York City

Sister act Larkin Poe open night of blistering rock & roll at Radio City Music Hall

If there ever was any need for a reminder why good ole rock & roll will never go out of style, New York City’s magnificent Radio City Music Hall was the place to be last Saturday (April 27). That’s where The Black Crowes performed before an enthusiastic crowd as part of their ongoing Happiness Bastards Tour. A few weeks ago, I coincidentally had found out about the show when watching a YouTube clip of Larkin Poe, which listed the storied venue among their upcoming gigs. When I saw they would open for the Crowes, I had to check for a way in. Luckily, I found a verified resale ticket at a reasonable price.

Before getting to The Black Crows, I have to address Larkin Poe. Not only was it thanks to the southern sister act of Rebecca Lovell (guitar, vocals) and Megan Lovell (lap steel, backing vocals) I was there in the first place, but these ladies tore up the stage, even though their setup was way more modest than the Crowes’. These amazing musicians and vocalists were backed by their regular touring bassist Tarka Layman and an African American drummer whose name I didn’t catch. He may have been a sub for Kevin McGowan.

Megan Lovell (left) with her sister Rebecca Lovell

While I started paying attention to Larkin Poe about six years ago and have covered them on previous occasions, for example here and here, I’m not very familiar with the titles of their songs. As best as I can tell, their 30-minute set primarily drew on material from Blood Harmony, their most recent studio album released in November 2022. I believe the songs included Summertime Sunset, Kick the Blues, Georgia Off My Mind and Bad Spell. Additionally, I seemed to recognize Wanted Woman/AC/DC, a track from their September 2017 studio album Peach.

Last but not least, there were two excellent covers: Jessica, a sweet instrumental by the late Dickey Betts, off Brothers and Sisters, the fourth studio album by The Allman Brothers Band from August 1973; and Preachin’ Blues by Delta blues guitarist and singer Son House. Before giving you a little flavor of Larkin Poe’s fire power, I have to say I feel sorry for the boneheads who came late and evidently had no interest in seeing Larkin Poe and/or probably had no clue who they are. I also find it extremely disrespectful to walk in while musicians pour out their hearts and souls on stage. I just wish entertainment venues would ban this dreadful practice! Here’s Jessica and Kick the Blues, Larkin Poe style!

After a short intermission it was time for The Black Crows to land and take the stage; or perhaps I should better say soar. Delivering kickass rock & roll is so much better than fighting with each other. Brothers Chris Robinson (lead vocals) and Rich Robinson (guitar, backing vocals), who form the band’s core, certainly know a thing or two about the latter. Luckily, it appears their volatile relationship is a matter of the past – keeping fingers crossed it’ll stay that way!

After the Crowes concluded their Shake Your Moneymaker Tour in March 2023 to celebrate the 30th anniversary of their popular February 1990 debut album, they continued to be on the road through much of 2023 and into this year before they announced their current Happiness Bastards Tour in January. That 30-plus-date series is in support of their new album of the same name, which came out on March 15. Perhaps not surprisingly, music from their 10th studio album – their first of original music in 15 years – featured prominently in their set. Let’s check out some of the goodies!

After energetically kicking off with Bedside Manners and Rats and Clowns, the first two tracks off the Happiness Bastards album, Chris Robinson cheerfully announced that in addition to new songs they would also play some old motherfuckers. Of course, no good rock & roll show can be without f-words, the more the merrier! I’ll give you Twice As Hard, the fucking opener of the Crowes’ above-mentioned epic debut Shake Your Money Maker. That motherfucker was co-written by the two brothers.

Okay, I shall behave. No more f-words! Here’s Wanting and Waiting, my early favorite from the Crowes’ new album. That m… – nope, I’m not gonna say it! – was also co-written by the Robinson brothers.

I suppose the next song doesn’t need much of an introduction. Penned by Otis Redding, who Chris Robinson noted hailed from Georgia as well, along with Al Bell and Allen Jones, Hard to Handle was first popularized in 1968 by the Stax recording artist. Robinson also acknowledged that song had done much for the Crowes. Indeed. It became their first single to top Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart. I think it’s fair to say it also still is the group’s signature song. Let’s listen to that motherfucker – opps, I did it again!

Alrighty, one more clip: Remedy, a track from The Black Crowes’ sophomore album The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion, which appeared in May 1992. Another co-write by the Robinson brothers, the song was also released separately as the album’s lead single in April of the same year. It became their third no. 1 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart.

After the crowd screamed for more, The Black Crowes obliged with a cover of White Light/White Heat, the title track of the second studio album by The Velvet Underground released in January 1968. The song was written by Lou Reed. Earlier in their set, the Crowes also delivered an energetic rendition of High School Confidential, the title track of the 1958 U.S. crime drama motion picture, co-written by Jerry Lee Lewis and Ron Hargrave, and performed by The Killer. Here’s the full setlist, as documented on Setlist.fm.

Setlist

Bedside Manners
Rats and Clowns
Twice as Hard
Gone
Then She Said My Name
Cross Your Fingers
Seeing Things
High School Confidential (Jerry Lee Lewis cover)
Thorn in My Pride
Wanting and Waiting
Hard to Handle (Otis Redding cover)
She Talks to Angels
Flesh Wound
I Ain’t Hiding
Jealous Again
Remedy

Encore:
White Light/White Heat (The Velvet Underground cover)

I thought The Black Crowes delivered a great show. Chris Robinson’s vocals sounded strong, and his brother Rich Robinson was compelling on guitar. At one point, Chris also showcased his impressive harmonica skills. The Robinson brothers were backed by a formidable band featuring Sven Pipien (bass), who previously toured with them from 1997 until 2015; Nico Bereciartua (guitar, backing vocals); Erik Deutsch (keyboards, backing vocals) and Cully Symington (drums, percussion). The line-up also included backing vocalists Mackenzie Adams and Leslie Grant who added a neat soul vibe to the performance.

The Black Crows are flying next to Washington, D.C. (tomorrow, April 30), followed by Charlotte, N.C. (May 1); Bethlehem, Pa. (May 3); Atlantic City, N.J. (May 4); and Philadelphia, Pa. (May 7). The full schedule of the Happiness Bastards Tour is here.

Also, let’s not forget Larkin Poe, who to me were just as compelling as the Crowes. The sister act’s upcoming gigs include Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival, Manchester, Tenn. (Jun 14); Off North Shore – Skokie Music Festival, Skokie, Ill., Jun 21-22; Rock, Ribs & Ridges, Augusta, N.J., Jun 30; and High Sierra Music Festival, Quincy, Calif., Jul 4-7.

I also noticed that in September, Larkin Poe are playing the annual Sea.Hear.Now Festival in Asbury Park, N.J., which is right in my backyard. Unfortunately, tickets are already sold out. Well, it’s a good thing for the organizers. You can check out Larkin Poe’s full schedule here.

Sources: Wikipedia; Setlist.fm; The Black Crowes website; Larkin Poe website; YouTube

14 thoughts on “The Black Crowes Bring Happiness to New York City”

  1. Stellar review CB a skill I wish I possessed. Having tried I know how tough it is to do well. Killer job on the videos, steady as a rock, did you smuggle in a tripod? Love Larkin Poe, it was a couple years before I realized there id no actual Larkin Poe and connected the dots with the name.
    I’ve never seen the Black Crowes and while I like what I hear I wouldn’t say im a huge fan. I did see Rich play with The Rolling Stones at their 50th in Jersey. Great stuff CB.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a good night. When I have a few more minutes I’m going to get back to listen to a couple of those clips. You reminded me of a few BC songs I’d forgotten that I did like, like ‘Twice as Hard.’ Really though, and this will annoy some I know, for me, I would have been much more interested in seeing Larkin Poe. I don’t know a lot about them or their songs off the top of my head, but I think it was Obbverse mentioned them and recommended them a couple of years back and when I did, I was impressed. I like their sound a lot based on the small sampling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Larkin Poe are incredible, at least in my book. And as I noted in the post, it was really them who made me find that concert and look for a ticket. I wish they would have played a little longer, but I guess 30 minutes is what you get as a warmup act. I also would love to see them again in a smaller venue. I think it would work better with their music.

      One thing I have to say about The Black Crowes, as great as they were, I didn’t hear them acknowledge Larkin Poe with one word. I think it would have been a nice and frankly well-deserved gesture. And it wouldn’t have taken away anything from their show.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. That sounds like a great show. The Black Crowes are one of the few rock bands still in the mainstream now days…and they do it like The Faces…I’ve always liked them.
    Larkin and Poe…I’ve liked them now quite a while since you coverd them on your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Both would be cool to see. Yea Bonnaroo… if I was twenty I would go…a lot of traffic and campers….I’m not saying I would not…but it would have to be really special. One instance I didn’t know about…Buffalo Springfield reunited there….had I known that…I would have went.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yea that would be a good place to see them. I’m not putting down Bonaroo though…but yea…I would have to have some time.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great double bill! As always, your videos are first-rate Christian. I so agree with you about those inconsiderate jerks who couldn’t care less about the opening acts and arrive late to concerts, interrupting those of us who made the effort to get there on time. It’s disrespectful both to the supporting acts and their fellow concert goers, and it makes me sick!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment